So, my work schedule has totally been interfering with my training schedule.  I’ve been working on a big project, which hit its apex last weekend, when I ended up working 45 hours over a 60 hour period (including a stint from 9 AM Sunday morning until 3:30 PM Monday afternoon!).  Needless to say, when I headed out for my run on Tuesday, I was wrecked.

“Wow, that was a great run!”, I thought at the end.  Then a moment later: “Wait, really? Great?”  How could it have been great?  The tension and exhaustion from work was still camped out in my muscles, giving me back spasms that I had to stop and stretch out three separate times.  I stopped to walk twice, which at least somewhat explains the 8:53 pace I averaged for my four miles.  I was dehydrated from days of eating salty take-out food and spent the entire run fantasizing about the strawberry agua frescas at the local Mexican restaurant.  I haven’t felt so awkward about the movement of my arms since my first debate speech in college.  Basically, I was a mess.

But, my legs were shuffling along, almost of their own accord (maybe because my exhaustion had hit some sort of dissociative state?).  It didn’t occur to me once to check my watch (usually a good sign that I”m running in flow).  I could feel my breath flowing, my blood pumping, and I was happy.  I’m not sure what this means for my half marathon training, but I’m pretty sure it’s a good sign for my running in general.

